Sri Lanka Watch
Thursday, 18 October 2018
Thursday, 18 October 2018 | Sri Lanka Watch
Main Menu
Contact Us
New Cabinet goes up to 55 PDF Print E-mail
The new Cabinet appointed by the President for his 2nd term of office was sworn in today at 10 am. Govt information sources said that among the new Cabinet members there are eight deputy ministers and two MPs that crossed over from the UNP. Govt sources revealed that the number of Cabinet members will go up to 55. The new Cabinet will also hold its first meeting at 11 am today.
Budget will be presented

After the sixth executive President of the country was sworn in, the cabinet of Ministers became defunct and as such new cabinet of ministers took oath before the President at the auspicious time of 10:11 hours.

Immediately after the new cabinet was sworn in president submitted the new budget before the cabinet for its approval and then it would be presented in the parliament in the afternoon.

New Faces in the Cabinet appointed by President today include Dr. Sarath Amunugama, Rauff Hakeem, Wasudeva Nanayakkara, Naveen Dissanayaka, Lakshman Senevirathne, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Dilan Perera, Mervyn Silva, Mahinda Amaraweera, Jagath Pushpakumara, Gunrathne Weerakone, S.M. Chandrasena, Reginold Cooray.

The new Cabinet
Prime Minister D.M.Jayarathne  - Buddha Sasana and Religious Affairs Minister

Senior Ministers

1.    Rathnasiri Wickremanayake – Good Governance and Infrastructure (Senior) Minister 
2.    D.E.W. Gunasekara – Human Resource (Senior)Minister
3.    Athauda Senevirathne – Rural Affairs (Senior) Minister
4.    A.H.M. Fowzie – Urban Affairs (Senior) Minister
5.     S.B. Navinna – Consumer Welfare (Senior) Minister
6.    Tissa Vitharana – Scientific Affairs (Senior) Minister
7.     Sarath Amunugama – International Monetary Co-operation (Senior) Minister
8.    Piyasena Gamage – National Resources (Senior) Minister
9.    P. Dayarathne – Food and Nutrition Monetary


1.    Nimal Siripala De Silva – Irrigation and Water Supply Minister
2.    Maithripala Sirisena – Health Minister
3.    Susil Premajayantha – Petroleum Industries Minister
4.    Arumugam Thondaman – Livestock and Rural Community Development Minister
5.    Dinesh Gunawardena – Water Supply and Drainage Minister
6.    Douglas Devananda – Traditional Industries and Small Enterprise Development Minister
7.    A.L.M. Athaulla – Local Government and Provincial Councils Minister
8.    Rishad Bathiudeen – Industry and Commerce Minister
9.    Patali Champika Ranawaka – Power and Energy Minister
10.    Wimal Weerawansa – Construction, Engineering , Services Housing and Common Amenities Minister
11.    Rauff Hakeem – Justice Minister
12.    Basil Rajapaksa – Economic Development Minister
13.    Wasudeva Nanayakkara – National Languages and Social Integration Minister
14.    S.B. Dissanayaka – Higher Education Minister
15.     G.L. Peiris – External Affairs Minister
16.    W.D.J. Senevirathne - Public Administration and Home Affairs Minister
17.    Sumedha Jayasena – Parliamentary Affairs Minister
18.    Jeevan Kumarathunga – Postal Services Minister
19.    Pavithra Wanniarachchi – Technology and Research Minister
20.    Anura Priyadharshana Yapa – Environment Minister
21.    Tissa Karaliyadda – Child Development and Women’s Affairs Minister
22.    Gamini Lokuge – Labour and Labour Relations Minister
23.    Bandula Gunawardena – Education Minister
24.    Mahinda Samarasinghe – Plantation Minister
25.    Rajitha Senarathne – Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development Minister
26.    Janaka Bandara Tennakoon – Land and Land Development Minister
27.    Felix Perera – Social Services Minister
28.    C.B. Rathnayaka – Private Transport Services Minister
29.    Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena – Agriculture Minister
30.    Keheliya Rambukwella – Mass Media and Information Minister
31.     Kumara Welgama – Transport Minister
32.    Dullus Alahapperuma – Youth Affairs and Skill Development Minister
33.    Johnston Fernando – Cooperatives and Internal Trade Minister
34.    Chandrasiri Gajadeera – Rehabilitation and Prison Reforms Minister
35.    Salinda Dissanayaka – Indigenous Medicine Minister
36.    Reginold Cooray – Export Crop Promotion Minister
37.    Dilan Perera – Foreign Employment and Welfare Minister
38.    Jagath Pushpakumara – Coconut Development and Janatha Estate Development Minister
39.    T.B. Ekanayake – Culture and Arts Minister
40.    Mahinda Amaraweera – Disaster Management Minister
41.    S.M. Chandrasena – Agrarian Services and Wildlife Minister
42.    Gunarathna Weerakone – Resettlement Minister
43.    Mervyn Silva – Public Relations and Public Affairs Minister
44.    Mahindananda Aluthgama – Sports Minister
45.    Dayashritha Thisera – State Resources and Enterprise Development Minister
46.    Ranjith Siyambalapitiya – Telecommunication and Information Technology Minister
47.    Jagath Balasuriya – National Heritage Minister
48.    Lakshman Senevirathne – Productivity Promotion Minister
49.    Naveen Dissanayaka – Public Management and Reforms Minister

< Prev   Next >
Go to top of page Go to top of page
| Home | Features | Contact Us |